My program is crashing from a write error... apparently I'm trying to write at address 0x33 after a call to socket in the winsock library (wsock32.dll) before I stepover the call to socket, edx = what i want it to be (an address in memory i have read/write permissions to) and after the call to socket edx contains 3. not only that, but ecx has changed as well. I know there is a calling convention that uses ecx/edx to pass arguments (as used in starcraft for example) but the socket call takes it's 3 args off the stack.

sure I could work around this by pushing ecx/edx but i want to know why it is doing this. this is my first project with nasm, I am pretty fluent with masm and have never had this problem before.

;edx is correct at this point
call socket,AF_INET,SOCK_STREAM,0
;edx comes out wrong here ecx too, but ecx gets changed next anyways
  mov ecx, eax
  mov dword,eax

and here's the same code in ollydbg:

100010AC  |> 6A 00          PUSH 0                                  ; /Protocol = IPPROTO_IP
100010AE  |. 6A 01          PUSH 1                                  ; |Type = SOCK_STREAM
100010B0  |. 6A 02          PUSH 2                                  ; |Family = AF_INET
100010B2  |. FF15 58130010  CALL DWORD PTR DS:[<&wsock32.socket>]    ; \socket
100010B8  |. 89C1          MOV ECX,EAX
100010BA  |. 8942 08        MOV DWORD PTR DS:,EAX
Posted on 2008-01-25 13:33:53 by jakor
Don't use edx because the register could be used in the function socket. The only register that you can be sure that its value will not change will be ebp, ebx, edi, esi and esp when you call the api.
Posted on 2008-01-25 17:49:42 by roticv
jakor: this is standard windows calling convention, as roticv is saying. Basically, every time you CALL a piece of code, you should expect EAX, ECX and EDX to be destroyed. Doesn't matter if it doesn't happen on whatever version of windows you're using, you must always treat them this way.