Hey everyone.
We are a bunch of enthusiasts willing to create a good driving game, iconish like GranTurismo series for PlayStation series and Forza series for XBox, but for PC. Emm, I know that's a hard stuff, I'm normal in physics, I can write some simple programs, but I'm a n00b in ASM for sure. Mainly, I'm a 3D modeler.
So we are willing to find a possible car nerd or a guy into driving sports / drifting / Japan / programming physics or just ASM. No, I'm not willing get some one, who'd do all the work instead of me. But a good PC game nowadays needs a good engine, awesome physics, great models, beautiful environment, smooth multiplayer and interesting gameplay... Then there will be success. Game, physics conceptions are mainly ready. Also I've got some resources to maintain multiplayer server, so it won't be a problem.
We need a new member of our small rigid team.
Sorry, no money or something, probably, until we finish it. So you shouldn't enter if money is what you need.

p.s. Money breaks projects. :P Motivation is the key.

Feel free to write what you think about the idea and developing.
Posted on 2008-03-02 21:12:24 by Diskovod
There are many many options and pitfalls/gotchas and things-made-easy in gamedev, I recommend just using existing engines or libraries or at least copy/paste/modify existing code. Thanks to nVidia and ATi, it's usually hell to support all DX9-class (and above) cards. And you mostly end-up calling API. So, it's better to put an ASM coder to write most stuff in C++, and only in the end make him optimize all critical parts. A coder without a black-belt in ASM will only cripple the project :P. (those C++-only kids go into endless loops around OOP praises, it's scary and funny).
For physics, use Bullet - you can later optimize it further (though the author seems to know ASM and maybe his lib is ok as it is).