Hi everyone.  I am very excited about this forum.  I am new to programming.  I want to learn how to write non-proprietary code that can work on as many current machines as possible.  I'm interested in linux, bsd, unix, mach, and windows.  I intend to learn as much about these as possible.  But, my main objective is to learn assembly language.  I would like to get into new Kernel research studies starting from the ground up.  Basically I want to develop my own mini Kernel's.  I would also like to write my own High Level language based on assembly language. (I realize this will take years of research.) I want to learn to write a new kernel that will not require licensing of either proprietary or non-proprietary models that are already copyrighted.  Though I will study all of them to gain knowledge of the different approaches out there.  I currently like the concept behind MicroKernels such as Mach 3.0 and the new Mach 4.0.  Based on this information, what books would you read in order from beginning to end to become advanced in assembly language and development?  I should point out that I am just starting (as a Community College transfer student in General Studies) as a Jurnior in Computer Science/Computer Engineering (Double Major).  But I'm 32 years old so I want to learn as efficiently as possible.  I realize everyone will have a slightly different approach of study.  I'm hoping to find the most broad consensus of the best books to get me started.  Then I should be able to better choose books based on my needs.  Please share your perspective.  The thing that fascinates me is the several different Kernels currently being used.  So far here is what I've read that others have suggested:

1) First study C Programming
2) Then study C++
3) Then study Randall Hyde's Assembly Language Books
4) Also study W. Richard Stevens TCP/IP books.  (I've heard this is the TCP/IP Bible.)

Am I on track?