Hi there, I've always been fascinated by assemby even if I'm not a developer...

I've been in touch with many asm-os projects but i finally understood that it's really difficoult to build a functional alternative OS in asm.

BTW I believe that it would be really great to exploit the machine-code power for heavy tasks as a/v encoding. Not only: I also believe that such kind of product could have great diffusion too.
I can already imagine a standalone player/recorder with an embedded/minimal asm OS that can manage realtime DVD playing while transcoding.

So as I already suggested to many asm-coded os (such as menuet, Kolibri, Dex and octa), DVD4DOS could be the starting point:

DVD PLAYER for 16bit DOS systems!!!

Minimal requirements:

-486DX computer (486 with built-in FPU)
-4/8/16 or more MB of RAM (I don't know...I have 64MB...)
-SVGA card (640x480 resolution and 8/15/16/24/32 color bits/pixel)
-SB Pro or compatible soundcard (11025 Hz, 8 bit, stereo)
-DVD drive with drivers installed (CDROM.SYS included in the package)
-a single layer and region-free DVD movie disc
-lots of spare time because DVD4DOS Beta1 is not a realtime player
and very slow...(tested with my Pentium 120 MHz computer...
transcoding 1 min movie takes cca. 1 hour)

Third party free softwares included and used:

-VOBSPLIT (file splitter) by Anastasis Chatzioglou (Anasto) (2000)
-DECODEVOB (A/V demux) source from the web (by ?) (DOS ported by me) (2003)
-MPEG2DEC (MPEG2 video decoder) by MSSG (1994)
-CMPEG (MPEG1 encoder) by Stefan Eckart (1993)
-MPXPLAY (AC3 decoding) by PDSoft, Padar Attila (2003)
-DISPLAY (MPEG1 playing) by Jih-Shin Ho (1993-1995)
-CDROM.SYS Acer cdrom device driver which can read single-layer DVD
-see doc's for more info on included parts...

All other parts designed coded and compiled by Horvath Istvan, (2003.)

As you can see it's very sloooooooow but an assembly re-code/optimization could boost it up.

I don't know if it's useful or not, BTW I hope that at least inspires.