Hi, my 1st post, I've been programming in assembly for the last 4 - 5 months, I started it because I wanted to use the SSE registers and as long as I was playing around with those it was fine, now I'm trying some more "complex" stuff (if you can say that...) I'm still using inline assembler via C++ for some small functions... I was curious about 2 things mainly

FPU Register Stack

The contents of the register stacks are persistent across function calls?  as in... the stack is not implicitly cleared?... I made a function in a loop and the third call started giving me 1#IND on the stack... then I used FFREE to clear all the registers I previously used... is that "The way" to do it? is there a better way? or it's about taking care and using store commands that pop the stack?

MMX Registers

I was reading some book and I saw a comment about MMX registers, and I started looking for the commands I thought "Cool, 8 more registers" I wrote a few things and then I was debugging a code that used the FPU and I saw in the registers debug window something weird, sometimes when I pushed something into the the FPU stack some MMX registers (usually between 4/7) changed it's value O_O

Any clues?

And any recommended bibliography?

I started by PCASM by paul carter then I've read
Write Great Code Volume 1: Understanding the machine
Write Great Code Volume 2: Thinking low level writting high level
and I read a little of WROX professional assembly language...
I'm going to buy The Art Of Assembly programming sometime, but, is there anything else?
I was wondering about that "Assembly Language for Intel-Based Computers" anyone read that?
and also "32/64-bit 80x86 Assembly Language Architecture" (anyone?)

Thanks alot
Posted on 2008-11-01 18:41:58 by Melanikus
MMX registers are just aliases for existing FPU registers. Therefore when you played around with FPU the variables in the MMX registers got modified.
Posted on 2008-11-01 21:09:44 by roticv