Hi guys i am new to the microprocessor world. Well i have this project am supposed to work on and i need a few ideas from anyone willing to help. I am supposed to design a microprocessor-based system for controlling a car parking lot. I need to know which kind of microprocessor is most suitable for the project, a few tutorials on how to program it and any other ideas you may think of. Any help provided will be highly appreciated. Thanx
Posted on 2008-11-03 02:49:19 by wagatyne
What you need is called "controller" (or "microcontroller" or "programmable microcontroller" etc.), not processor. Processors can't do anything alone.

As for your question: EVERY microcontroller is suitable for any task. Of course, the better (read: the more expensive) a microcontroller is, the better. Please specify what you mean by "controlling a car parking lot". If it's not uber-complicated then you'll be OK with Atmel's ATtiny or ATmega8/16 - about $1.00 a piece. They use Atmel's AVR architecture. Or you can use ARM architecture-based ones since they are becoming more and more popular these days (many modern cellphones use them, for example). I don't know about other manufacturers selling ARM-based controllers, but on Atmel's site they can be bought for about $10. And yes, they can do virtually every job thanks to their advanced support for external interfaces.

Almost every company provides their own C compiuler, so you can program microcontrollers in C if you don't want to learn ASM. Many tutorials are available on the internet for both the AVR-based microcontrollers and the ARM-based ones.
Posted on 2008-11-03 05:55:26 by ti_mo_n
There are also Microchip's PIC microcontrollers (though maybe they're actually too pricey now).