Hey everyone! Thank you for reading my thread. I have been interested in programming for quite some time now, but I have never had the time or motivation to do it. I moderate a forum that revolves around online games and various "tools" and programs, in which our members program both for free or for a fee. I think it's about time I begin to contribute some quality programs, and from what I have read, assembly is where it is at.

I have never programmed before in my life, well at least until I picked up a copy of Randall Hyde's "The Art of Assembly Language". HLA boasts to be as powerful as ASM, but also more time-efficient, which was everything I could have hoped for. I had a look at some documents and articles on various Assemblers before reading the book, and MASM32 and TASM also sound quite interesting.

I have almost finished chapter 1 of The Art of Assembly Language, but because of the lack of source code available and variety of tutorials (or lack of) for HLA in general, I am considering changing to MASM32 or TASM.

My Question) Should I stick with HLA, and just continue working through the book? Keep in mind my goal is to learn Assembly, but also to be able to program, in the shortest time possible. The Art of Assembly book states that it "weeds" you out of HLA procedures, so hopefully by the end I'll have a decent knowledge of true ASM (Win-32).

Thanks!

Posted on 2008-11-11 02:38:22 by Matt
As soon as you are comfortable with HLA, stop using it.
Why? Because to stagnate is to rot - if you're not in a state of growth, you are dying.
Although HLA is a nice place to start, I would not suggest you stick with it - because its an interpreted language, and you'll never have absolute control over your code if you use an interpreted language.

Once you're familiar with HLA, I would recommend taking a look at ObjAsm32.
HLA is a preprocessor which emits asm.