Hello everyone,

I'm a student who's new to assembly language and I'm running into some trouble with an assignment.  The program reads in a 4 digit number from the keyboard (using direct addressing), performs some arithmetic and conversion, and then displays the answer.  For the first version of the program the output was to be a 4 digit number with any necessary leading 0's (ie with input of 2004 the result is 0043).  The version I'm working on now uses loop and jump commands and indirect addressing for the input, converting the input characters from hex to a decimal number, converting the answer from decimal to hex characters, and then to remove the leading 0's.

I'm running into two problems with the second version.  The first problem is that my answer now gets printed with spaces in-between each number, 0 0 4 3, instead of 0043.  And the second problem is that my loop to remove the leading zeros isn't working.  To remove the zeros I'm trying to replace them with spaces by comparing the first digit to zero and if it's equal to zero, replacing it with the ASCII value 20h.  The way I'm trying to compare the values doesn't seem to be working.

If anyone has any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong it would be greatly appreciated.  I've been staring at this for hours and can't seem to figure out what's wrong.

I'm using MASM 6.11 and Microsoft Linker 5.63.  I attached my source code to this post.
Attachments:
Posted on 2008-11-14 17:59:44 by Unclejunebug
Here's the code not in an attachment....

.model small
.stack 100h
.data

count DW 0
year DW 0
input DB ?,?,?,?

prompt DB "Enter a four digit number for year: ",0dh,0ah,'$'

space DB 0dh,0ah
msg DB "The result is: "
r2d2 DB ?,?,?,?
DB 0dh,0ah,'$'

.code
main proc

mov ax,@data
mov ds,ax

;display prompt
mov ah,9
mov dx,offset prompt
int 21h

mov si,offset input

;enter values for input
L1: mov ah,01h
int 21h
CMP al,0dh
JE L2
mov ,al
inc si
inc count
Loop L1

L2: mov cx,count
mov si,offset input
mov bx,10
mov ax,0