Hi Im an aspiring OS developer, btw if Japheth uses this forum WOW!!! I can't seem to find anything relating to OS Development in this forum, I'm going to have a pop at reverse engineering some Linux Drivers to run from bootloader in real-mode and p-mode just wondered if anyone has any examples relating to this (I know I wont be accelerating my Nvidia any time soon btw)
Posted on 2009-06-04 14:44:20 by loui1986
I think that most of us are M$ asmers like you say  :lol:
There's also the FASM forum for OS construction you might want to check out
http://board.flatassembler.net/forum.php?f=11
Posted on 2009-06-04 16:35:54 by ChaperonNoir
there are also forums on www.osdev.org
Posted on 2009-06-04 17:52:16 by comrade

Hi Im an aspiring OS developer, btw if Japheth uses this forum WOW!!! I can't seem to find anything relating to OS Development in this forum, I'm going to have a pop at reverse engineering some Linux Drivers to run from bootloader in real-mode and p-mode just wondered if anyone has any examples relating to this (I know I wont be accelerating my Nvidia any time soon btw)

To my knowledge there aren't any projects like that going on. Though there are several people on the board who have developed hobby OS's in the past, or are currently working on their own OS projects. If you have any questions I would suggest asking them in the Low Level Concepts forum.

Also, if you look at the bottom of the list of forums you'll notice the DynatOS section, it's a steadily growing 64-bit OS designed by the Administrator of the ASM community, you might want to check it out if you plan on getting into 64-bit stuff.

We do have an Operating Systems section in our ASM Book, available from the top menu, but it's really scarce for information as working on the ASM Book has been low on the priority list for most of us lately. :oops:
Posted on 2009-06-04 21:17:11 by Synfire