Hi,

First of all, I'm sorry for my bad english, I'm from Brazil and I don't know english ._.

Anyway, I'm new to assembly programming, and I have some doubts about assembly.

1 Wich is the difference about assembly 16bits and assembly 32bits?
2 I've read here, that "Art of assembly language" book has own syntax, is this true?
3 I want to learn the basis of assembly language, not only windows api like some programs I've saw.
4 Wich is the best book of assembly?

I'm sorry about the english guys ._.
I'm also trying to lean english ._.

Someone can help me? Thanks.

See you soon!
Posted on 2009-12-28 14:22:41 by Defcon
Well, I'm pretty new to assembly myself, but here are some of my thoughts (I'm mostly just regurgitating some of what I have learned recently):

1.  This is quite a general question, but there are a couple of main differences:
-16 bits will pretty much be DOS development, otherwise you are looking at 32 bits:  i.e Windows, Linux, plus many other smaller players.
-16 bits is, for most people's intents and purposes, dead for PC development (unless you are looking to develop for embedded systems), although there is still some activity.
-the available instructions, for the most part, will be the same for 16 and 32 bits:  the difference will be that the assembler will generate a prefix byte on the assembled instructions; in 16 bit mode, the prefix byte will be on 32 bit instructions and vice versa in 32 bit mode.  The idea being in 16 bit mode you try to use mostly 16 bit instructions:  i.e. deal mostly with the 16 bit registers (ax, bx, cx, dx, di, si, bp, sp) and in 32 bit mode use eax, ebx, ecx, edx, edi, esi, ebp, and esp.
-16 bit mode also forces you to use the segment registers to address any significant amount of memory > 64 KB whereas 32 bit mode allows you to address 4 GB directly.