Hello,
I'm new to Assembly, and I've learned by the only book of Assembly that you can find in Brazil and by some tutorials over the internet, but I want to know. How you learned Assembly?

Best Regards,
Nathan Paulino Campos
Posted on 2010-01-24 08:38:36 by nathanpc
In the 80s (I don't really remember what year) I purchased my first computer - A Tandy!. I only have little memories about it except that I thought it was mostly garbage at the time. I moved over to Atari and started typing those listing from magazines into it. I'd say that 80% of the time I skipped lines or made mistakes and those damn listings never worked.

A decade later I purchased a 486DX33 and ran WingCommander as my first game. Farted around in Basic for awhile and then in 98 found +Sandmans little corner of the web. Became a lurker for the longest time while following his tutorials mostly guessing my way through assembly listings.

Then the turn around happened: I found Neural Noise's Notepad functionality adding tutorial and was suckered in for good. Extending some apps like Notepad became fun up to the point when you realized that you could (hold your breath) write a similar program yourself with the functionality you wanted without digging through stupid disassembly listings and Hiew calculating your jumps wrong.

Looking around for assemblers I found Iczelion's message board and asked most of my stupid questions in #win32asm where I was always helped quickly and sent on my way. (Also in that time frame I followed Adams 16bit tutorials)