Hi there, my second question to the MASM32 community :)

MyProgram db "MyProgram.EXE",0

invoke CreateProcess,NULL,ADDR MyProgram,NULL,NULL,TRUE,NULL,NULL,NULL,ADDR ParentStruct,ADDR ProcessInfo

I have seen this done elsewhere, but am having problems. If MyProgram is "NOTEPAD.EXE" or "NET SEND LOCALHOST TEST", it works great - you can see it on TASK MANAGER

but if MyProgram = "CMD.EXE" or "TELNET.EXE", CreateProcess returns OK but process is clearly not running, non-existent on TASK MANAGER.

Platform I am running on is Windows XP Professional.
Can someone enlighten me ?

* I am new to MASM and programming so my assumed knowledge is low. Just learning :)
Posted on 2002-01-16 17:30:15 by prana
just to elaborate some more.

also tried this

invoke CreateProcess,ADDR MyProgram, NULL,NULL,NULL,TRUE,CREATE_NEW_CONSOLE,NULL,NULL,ADDR ParentStruct,ADDR ProcessInfo

CreateProcess returns 0 with this

and

invoke CreateProcess,ADDR MyProgram, NULL,NULL,NULL,TRUE,NULL,NULL,NULL,ADDR ParentStruct,ADDR ProcessInfo

and could not get it to work.

hehehe :stupid:

So anyone got any ideas ? Is it a Windows XP thing ?
Posted on 2002-01-16 22:31:37 by prana
To what end do you attempt such things. I don't know the answers to your specific questions, but I should be able to help in a general sense if I knew your goal. And I would like to provoke more dialog in the hopes you would know that you are not only welcome here, but your presents required. ;) Sorry, I am feeling a bit light and philosophical.
Posted on 2002-01-16 22:39:39 by bitRAKE
aww thanks man ! :alright:

Goals -
1. Well I am learning about pipes and CreatingProcesses and since I am an administrator, it would be cool to be able to administer PC's remotely.

2. I can write my own TALK like client, whereby I can talk to someone else on another IP.

More importantly, I can learn and that is my main goal. I want to learn how to use Win32 to do things C or other programs find difficult.