i currently have a program loaded into IDA dissassembler and i am looking at this function call inside another function

stxt371:013DF4AD                call   

IDA tells me it thinks var_74 is a DWORD(4 byte) value.  I'm confused to how this is possible if it's being called like an address?
does this instruction tell me var_74 = 4byte pointer to a function?
Posted on 2010-09-11 15:11:40 by maybnxtseasn
maybnxtseasn,

Correct. Indirect near call expects 32-bit offset as the operand, in your case at effective address given by (in 32-bit mode). Why are you suspecting anything else?
Posted on 2010-09-11 15:36:00 by baldr
i am new to learning assembly/reversing and i didn't think i would be correct on my first guess lol :).  are all pointers 4-bytes on a 32bit processor/program? and also any idea on how i can figure out what the return type of the function might be? should i just observe the data type being stored in the EAX register at the end of the function?
Posted on 2010-09-11 15:38:14 by maybnxtseasn
Remember that you can run 16-bit apps on a 32-bit processor, in which case the pointers are 16-bit (assuming the operating system provides such support, ie WOW32).  However, assuming you are running a modern version of Windows or Linux then it is pretty safe to assume that the pointers are all 32-bit for a 32-bit OS.  Pointers on a 64-bit OS can be either 32-bit or 64-bit, again depending on the application and whether the operating system itself supports it.

As far as return values be advised that, on a 32-bit machine EDX can also be used along with EAX to return a LONG or even a struct which fits into 8 bytes.  EAX on a 32-bit machine will contain a 32-bit pointer or integer if the function returns a pointer or integer, respectively.