Hi, I'm planning to learn assembly and was wondering what is the best way to go about developing a graphics/game app. I have about 3 years of c/c++ experience and am familiar with most 3d graphics apis. I have never written assembly before so wanted to learn by making a game. I am running on a 32bit windows on an x86 architecture.

What is the best assembler to learn for my purposes ? I looked into MASM but it felt like pseudo/high level assembly and I'm not sure if it will help me learn.
Does anyone have any recommendations ? I would prefer to use openGL/directX after a while to do my graphics but I'm not sure how those work at the assembly level.

Thanks
Posted on 2010-09-19 16:12:01 by Spidey
Hey :) I've written both DirectX and OpenGL stuff under MASM...
Despite appearances, MASM is perfectly capable of dealing with 100% lowlevel asm if you're that much of a masochist - and it's certainly been the assembler I've chosen for the past decade or so.
The highlevel directives in MASM are optional - and some other assemblers have been gravitating toward supporting exactly this kind of thing !!! Don't be so sure it's a bad idea... once you know what the assembled code for these directives looks like, you'll probably CHOOSE to use them.
I would indeed recommend MASM as a starting-point for someone with existing C/C++ experience, and especially the ObjAsm package for writing C++-compatible object-oriented code using MASM.
But you should also check out NASMX, which will be my next assembler (some of our users are actively developing this NASM fork with a view to supporting development of object-oriented code).
Posted on 2010-09-20 08:06:27 by Homer
Thanks for the reply Homer! That was really helpful. I am looking into both MASM and NASM to see which one I should pick, but am favoring MASM because of what you said :)

I had some more questions, since you have experience developing graphics programs in assembly: