I'm new to assembly programming, so hopefully the answer here is simple or at least not too difficult!

I am writing an object that is supposed to free itself, including both data AND code, before returning. (The object in question is a COM object on Windows but the fact that it's COM doesn't matter too much.) The code needs to work on both x86 and x64.

The general approach is that the last things the free function should do are:
1) clean up the stack;
2) do not mess with the return address;
3) set up the stack for VirtualFree; and finally
3) jump to the Win32 API call VirtualFree.

VirtualFree will free the data and code for the object, so it is self-deleting. Then it returns directly to the caller. If it returns to my free function, the code will crash because VirtualFree just freed the memory.

Here is a sample of some C code with sample assembly for each line:

static ULONG WINAPI SampleObj_Release(IUnknown *This)
{
77B14C10  push        ebp 
77B14C11  mov        ebp,esp
77B14C13  sub        esp,48h
77B14C16  push        ebx 
77B14C17  push        esi 
77B14C18  push        edi 
SampleObj *p = (SampleObj*)This;
77B14C19  mov        eax,dword ptr
77B14C1C  mov        dword ptr ,eax
ULONG refs = _InterlockedDecrement(&p->dwRefs);
77B14C1F  mov        eax,dword ptr
77B14C22  add        eax,8
77B14C25  or          ecx,0FFFFFFFFh
77B14C28  lock xadd  dword ptr ,ecx
77B14C2C  dec        ecx 
77B14C2D  mov        dword ptr ,ecx
if (refs != 0) return refs;
77B14C30  je          SampleObj_Release+27h (77B14C37h)
77B14C32  mov        eax,dword ptr
77B14C35  jmp        SampleObj_Release+66h (77B14C76h)

// TODO: force a trampoline jump in assembly!
return p->pFixedEntries->pVirtualFree(p->pVtbl, 0, MEM_RELEASE);
77B14C5E  push        8000h
77B14C63  push        0   
77B14C65  mov        eax,dword ptr
77B14C68  mov        ecx,dword ptr
77B14C6A  push        ecx 
77B14C6B  mov        edx,dword ptr
77B14C6E  mov        eax,dword ptr
77B14C71  mov        ecx,dword ptr