Hello everybody,

I'm somewhat new to assembly language and am currently having some issues with make a simple loop and was wondering If I could get some advice on what I'm doing wrong. I'm using inline assembly on the DMC compiler.

Thanks,

Sari

main.c

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

//Variable Declaration
char hey[] = "Hello World!!!";
char cool[] = "\nROAR!!!!!!!!!!";
char format[] = "%s\n\n%s\n\n";
char title[] = "title EXtreme ASM Logic";
char pause[] = "PAUSE";
int x = 0;
//End variable declarations

void printrnt() {
asm {
#include "printing.asm"
}
}

int main() {

asm {
mov ecx, x
mov eax, offset title
push eax
call system
pop ebx
}

run:

asm {
//loop, not working
call printrnt
inc ecx
cmp ecx, 25

jne run

//end loop, not working

}
done:

asm {
mov eax, offset pause
push eax
call system
pop ebx

mov eax, 0
call _exit
}
}

printing.asm

//Move our variables into the C Paramenters
pusha
mov eax, offset cool
push eax
mov eax, offset hey
push eax
mov eax, offset format
push eax
//Call our functions
call printf
//Clean it up
pop ebx
pop ebx
pop ebx

popa
Posted on 2010-10-28 09:15:56 by sari
sari,

You may as well attach compiled PE, not everyone here has Digital Mars C at hand to compile sources.

ecx can be easily trashed by call printrnt, see calling conventions. Single debugging session probably can show that.
Posted on 2010-10-28 12:04:14 by baldr
As baldr pointed out, if you are going to use the ecx register for loop control you must save it prior to calling C functions since eax, ecx, and edx are are considered volatile and will in most circumstances be trashed by the called routine.

The following should provide the quick fix:

push ecx
call  printrnt
pop  ecx