Hi, I'm a newbie to ASM and could do with some help getting my first project going.

I'm trying to monitor file changes per drive and get the filenames of those files which have been modified, created or deleted. In the MSDN Library there are 2 functions discussed which should achieve this. One polls for changes to the drive, the other enumerates the changes.

Could anybody please tell me how to use these examples from MSDN in a working example? I can't figure it out.

The URLs are these, but I have copied the info in below too.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/en-us/win32/95func_9s14.asp

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/en-us/win32/95func_9s2w.asp

Here's function 1:

-------------------------------------------
Interrupt 21h Function 440Dh Minor Code 6Ch
Polls the state of the access flag on a volume to determine if a write operation (for example, deleting or renaming a file or writing to a file) or a new file mapping has occurred since the last poll.

mov ax, 440Dh ; generic IOCTL

mov bl, DriveNum ; see below

mov ch, 08h ; device category (must be 08h)

mov cl, 6Ch ; Get Lock Flag State

int 21h

jc error

mov , ax ; state of access flag
Parameters
DriveNum Drive to poll. This parameter can be 0 for the default drive, 1 for A, 2 for B, and so on.

Return Values

Clears the carry flag and sets the AX register to one of the following values if successful.
Value Meaning
0 No write operations or file mappings have occurred since the last poll.
1 A write operation has occurred since the last poll (clears the volume access flag).
2 A file mapping has occurred since the last poll, or a 32-bit Windows-based DLL or executable has been opened (clears the volume access flag).

Otherwise, the function sets the carry flag and sets the AX register to an error value.

Remarks