I'm studying Advanced Diploma of Professional Game Development this year.
It's a two-year course, although I am being shoved straight into the second year.
The first year is all C++ programming (specifically using MSVC 2008 Express), and the second year is about making games in teams, using artwork provided by second year screen and media students... yay, I will be making games ALL YEAR with resources on tap!
After this, I can do a bachelors degree with just another 12 month course.
Basically I felt weird lecturing to students who have higher formal qualifications than myself, and decided to do something about it :)

Anyway, I kind of expect some crossover between classwork and ObjAsm during the year, with my c++ projects using OA32 core libs (for example, fast pixel operations on the cpu), and with some of the paradigms I learn migrating back into the high-end OA32 libs.

Rest assured that I'm not in any way selling out, or moving away from asm !!!
However, this year I will definitely be looking to move away from MASM.
Posted on 2011-01-27 02:07:28 by Homer

Rest assured that I'm not in any way selling out, or moving away from asm !!!
However, this year I will definitely be looking to move away from MASM.

Well, there is this little project you may have heard of called Nasm that might suit you nicely.  :twisted:
Posted on 2011-01-28 17:49:34 by p1ranha
First full day at AIE , and my advanced diploma has become a 2nd year bachelors degree in gamedev..
We already covered 3D vector operations (including dot and cross), homogenous coordinates, matrices, nested coordinate systems (spatial coordinate hierarchies), and implemented it all under dx10.
I went further and completed a quaternion exercise  
By the end of the day, most of us had a 3d object being rotated and translated by keyboard control, with a camera attached to it.