I am new to this topic so i don't think i know much about it.

As the topic says, i want to do general computing on the GPU. I know that there are full blown API like DirectX and OpenGL to help people do that. But i what i want to do is not really anything as complex as drawing vertices, textures and so on; which DirectX and OpenGL makes them easy to do so thanks to their API procedures. I want to start with stuff as simple as adding two numbers on the GPU and maybe do a personalized JPEG decoder that uses the GPU (preferably on assembly).

I have been looking around at a few books and tutorials and i see that DirectX and OpenGL starts doing the big stuff in small steps right away with their API procedures. I just want to know how to directly access to the video instructions and memory. But i am also aware that although what i am trying sounds simple it might not be so due to the abstraction layers and how the drivers might be manipulating the instructions due to individual hardware implementations of the graphics cards.
Posted on 2011-04-18 09:29:18 by banzemanga
Write your own shader? Or use DirectCompute/OpenCL/CUDA. Can't think of any other way.
Posted on 2011-04-18 17:11:13 by ti_mo_n
No, i don't want to start anything complicated like making my own shader. Let's start simple. Add two numbers on the GPGPU. Move a value to a register or video memory location.
Posted on 2011-04-18 18:02:48 by banzemanga
There are two major libraries to assist in writing GPU-based code: they are CUDA and GPGPU.

If you insist on creating your own solution, then you cannot avoid writing a shader function (actually, you can't ever avoid this but I digress).
The typical solution is to use a custom pixel shader, along with your own custom Pixel Format for passing your data to/from the GPU code, via 'custom textures' which are just flat arrays of your custom pixel structure, and using 'render-to-texture' to capture the output back from the pixel shader.