I'm new to ASM programming, but have been using NASM for a week or two now and have a basic grasp of it.  Linking however, is giving me a huge headache.  I've tried to learn assembly through online tutorials, but each one seems to work only with the linker given.  I now have several different linking programs that only seem to work on their own "style" of program.  I'm trying to figure out how to program using only one linker (ALink) but have since run into problems like with this simple program:

;test1.asm
extern printf
import printf dll\msvcrt.dll

section .data
m1: db 'Hello',0

section .text use32
..start:
push m1
call printf
add esp,4
ret

It's quite similar to a program I successfully linked using gcc (without including the C library of course).  Running the following from cmd:

nasm -fobj myprograms\test1.asm
alink -oPE myprograms\test1.obj

doesn't give any errors and seems to go smoothly.  Upon attempting:

myprograms\test1.exe

however, I get an error box saying that  "The application failed to start correctly (0xc000007b)."  Is there an error in my coding or is ALink just as confused as I am?

BTW yes a copy of msvcrt.dll is in the "dll" folder which is itself in the same folder as "test1."
Posted on 2011-10-22 17:11:08 by metallevel
Hi metallevel,

You can put your code in "code blocks" by putting the word "code" in square brackets ([]) - like a memory reference in Nasm, and "/code" (likewise) at the end. Like so:

;test1.asm
extern printf
import printf dll\msvcrt.dll

section .data

section .text use32
..start:
      push m1
  call printf
  add esp,4
ret

Try this slight variation on your code.

;test1.asm
extern printf
; I'm surprised the '/' worked here - but it did.
; I've replaced it with a space, "by preference".
import printf dll msvcrt.dll
; "use32" here, too.
section .data use32

; I don't know why "class=CODE" helps.
section .text use32 class=CODE
..start:
      push m1

; I don't know why we have to use the square brackets