I'm new to assembly and i am fooling around with DOS and bios interrupts. My problem is that when you accept get a character from an interrupt (Dos or Bios) then is the value given to you in ASCII or is it a string like in C. Also when I accept an integer and try to display it on the screen I get some weird looking things. I would like help with a few things
1. How to accept an integer from a user and display the integer
2. How to accept a character and display the character to the screen
3. How to accept individual characters and use them to build a string of characters that can be later displayed
4. How do I initialize an uninitialized variable in declared in
I am using the nasm assembler and fooling around with real mode flat and real mode segmented models. The book that i'm reading are Jeff Dunteman: Step by Step Programming with DOS and Linux, and Michael Abrash's Blackbook of Graphics programming. I already read the entire content of Dunteman's book but am now trying to apply them and I want to learn how to assembly code in order to be able to tackle Michael's Book.

This is what i got so far, it is supposed to read in a character and display it to the screen.
But when it displays it I see some weird symbols and not the character I typed.

mov dx,welcome
call Write
mov dx,CRLF
call Write
call Input
sub ah,ah
mov dx,ax
call Write

mov ax,04C00h
int 21h

Write:
mov ah,09
int 21h
ret

Input:
mov ah,07
int 10h
ret

welcome db "Please enter an integer: ",0Dh,OAh,"$"
CRLF db 0Dh,0Ah,"$"

num1 resb 1
Posted on 2013-01-28 19:11:51 by Snake4eva
Hi Snake4eva,

My sincere apologies. I wrote up an extensive reply yesterday, but the Forum dropped it in the bit-bucket. I think I exceeded my login time. In any case, I've been too demoralized to repeat it. Wasn't very good, but it was long. Sorry. But you've edited your post, and that gives me something to work with...

mov dx,welcome
call Write
mov dx,CRLF
call Write
; so far, so good
; but what's this supposed to do?