I have the ultimate dumb question, considering what I do for aliving(game programmer). I have been doing games as a hobby and as a profession for about 10 years now. I have 2D coming out of my ying yang.

Here is goes, how do you make 3D stuff, hahaha?

Actually, seriously. I have always done 2D games. Even today I work on the Gameboy Advance still flexing my 2D muscles. I am afraid if I don't walk down the 3D path, I am gonna choak in a couple years!!

Anyone have an idea of where to start learning this stuff?
And if any of you are bored, I wouldn't even mind sending some messages back and forth on this subject. I can lend my experience in the 2D world of game programming, AI, path finding(2D), etc, and also some nice stories that go along with working in the game industry. All in exchange for some pointers and help getting myself up to par in the realm of 3D programming

I would definately appreciate any help whatsoever. I have made a surface in DX7 and drawn to it via a pointer to the surface and then "Blit'd" it to the screen.(Wow what a feat, haha). I would like to know how the ins and outs of 3D. Most importantly the low level math. Even start at a point before DX and GL, and do it like the guys started doing 10 years ago.

thanx for any input
Posted on 2002-01-23 21:11:03 by Rockinronstar
First:

Wouldn't mind having the A* algorithm ported to assembly (pref. masm)... not yet experience enough for that kinda conversion

Also you might be able to get more from the searching of this site... there was aa talk about E-Zine coding and then a debate rose from it about 3d... Anyway

Now to answer your question: To be perfectly honest the amount of "win 32 assembly" game programming stuff out there isn't too much... You've got Caleb and Scronty (both very proficient in 3d programming and both with examples -- Especially Scronty -- using directx 8.0 and 8.1)

Just goto member profiles and head to there respective homepages...