Hi!
> I'm a newbie to Assembler programming..
> I would like to know where you can get simple and good tutorials for free?
> And how do you code a simple program which solves the squareroot from three
> positive numbers and prints it on the result on the screen?? (I'm using
> MASM)
>
> For example:
> c:\root.exe
> Give a integer: 121
> The squareroot is: 11
> c:\
Posted on 2002-01-28 12:19:32 by Newbie
Newbie, there plenty of resources on the web for this very problem. If your not going to do your homework yourself, you should atleast learn how to do research enough to use someone else's code. Try: http://www.google.com For search words try: square root MASM assembly :)

Try guess and check:
    [*]Pick a number[*]Multiply number by itself - square it[*]Test if number is similar to target number
    [*]Change guessed number based on comparison[*]Goto 2 if not done
Posted on 2002-01-28 12:39:47 by bitRAKE
bitRAKE, are you telling him to use those steps in order to calculate the square root or I misunderstoond what you said?
If i did not misunderstand those steps are pretty bad, the calculation would be slow and maybe almost impossible. Imagine square root of 2!!!
If i misunderstood, sorry. ;)
Posted on 2002-01-28 13:43:02 by CodeLover
CodeLover, those steps work if you program Step 5 correctly. ;) There is going to be some rounding. Yes, it would be slow - I didn't say it would be fast and Newbie didn't ask for a fast routine.
Posted on 2002-01-28 13:59:26 by bitRAKE
In square root of 25, that will work slowly but correctly. But i do not think square root of 2 would be so precise. Imagine:

Pick a number
Multiply number by itself - square it
Test if number is similar to target number
Change guessed number based on comparison
Goto 2 if not done

Steps:

eax=1*1
cmp eax,2
Change the number to what? 1.1?