Hello,

as i see there are ways to hide the exe from toolhelp32 *like vecna did* and a registry key from regedit.exe

how can i protect myself from this and how can i found out that there is something wrong ?

im very new to asm and i understand half what the function do to hide something.
can i make a function who check if kernel32 is hooked ?

thx

ps:im not asking how can i hide this and that ,i want to protect me from this and i hope that vecna or another coder has a way to do this :)
Posted on 2001-07-24 01:44:35 by CodeMonkey
Posted on 2001-07-24 02:27:22 by bazik
Hi

thanks for the answer.
but i mean not how i can hide a regkey on nt.

i like to know if there is a hidden regkey or exe file on my sytem and im thinking on a way to find it out :)

in win98 there is a hook on toolhelp32 to hide a exe and a hook for the regenum..
so i think i need a tool who can find hooks.

but since i cant write a hook ,how should i make a tool that find a hook on something ? *bg*

so i start asking if this is possible or are there better ways to know if there is a hook installed.

seams i have to learn how to make hooks first....

cu
Posted on 2001-07-24 08:39:08 by CodeMonkey
Hello,

for the ones who are interrested.....

if someone make a hook on regenum ,then only in REGEDIT.exe will the regkey be hidden.
if you code a small tool what checks the hidden regkey direct,you can see it :)

like you hide key : software/TEST
and in this key TEST is a value TESTVALUE
in regedit.exe you dont see TEST.
but if you read the key like open regkey with asm....you see it.

thats what i want....see if there is a hidden regkey.
just easy as it is :)

now i try to find something to find a hidden exe.

cu
Posted on 2001-07-26 02:10:35 by CodeMonkey
I think that this registry-key-hiding-stuff is very interesting....
Good that it can't be abused by for example virus programmers, can it???

[-alloces-]
Posted on 2001-07-26 03:21:24 by NOP-erator
I don't know..just ask *cough*vecna*cough* :)