Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to NT programming. I'm writing a program in which I want to load the offset of an other routine's sub routine to EAX. In 9x this is no problem: "MOV EAX, OFFSET subroutine" works ok of course. But in NT my MASM doesn't recognize the label 'myroutine' anymore. For Example:

.MODEL FLAT, STDCALL
OPTION CASEMAP:NONE ;my init params

routine1 PROC
subroutine1:
routine1 ENDP

routine2 PROC
MOV EAX, OFFSET subroutine1
RET
routine2 ENDP

compiling this gives me the error: 'undefined symbol 'subroutine1'. I'm sure this is a stupid question, but I just don't know how to refer to my subroutine without some 'workaround' like calculating the offset from subroutine1 to routine1 manually and then adding this to the offset of routine1 to refer to subroutine1.
Thanks in advance,
Dante
Posted on 2002-02-06 07:30:01 by _dante_
subroutine1 is a label, so already an address, I think offset is useless here... try without it...
Posted on 2002-02-06 07:42:02 by JCP
Try Readiosys's solution first, if that doesn't work then make sure you have routine1 declared as a proc at the top of your sourcefiles.
Posted on 2002-02-06 14:44:47 by sluggy
Thanks guys, but removing the 'offset' doesn't help, still the same error.

Sluggy, how do I declare the proc at the top of the source ? Could you give an example please ?
thanks a lot,

dante
Posted on 2002-02-06 15:13:47 by _dante_
You have to use a double colon on labels within a PROC to make them public, or use the OPTION command (can't remember which one off the top of my head) to make all lable within a PROC public (this isn't a good idea).
routine1 PROC 

subroutine1[b]::[/b] ; this lable is public outside of PROC
routine1 ENDP

routine2 PROC
RET
routine2 ENDP
Posted on 2002-02-06 15:39:58 by bitRAKE
Bitrake, yes, this works ! Thanks for sharing your knowledge man !
Posted on 2002-02-07 06:08:38 by _dante_