Can MASM32 produce COM files. I'm a Visual Basic programmer and am new to assembler. I have an example Visual Basic program with a very small machine code program embedded in a string constant. The Hex string data is loaded into byte array and executed using the CallWindowProc api call.

An example assembly file is included that produces a 14 byte com file.

This is the Com file from MASM Open binary Hext command
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
; C:\Applications\Desktop\MASM32\MachCd\TEST.COM 14 bytes

00000000: 55 89 E5 B8 4E 61 BC 00 - 89 EC 5D C2 10 00

This is the asm file that produced the above com file.
;Test.asm
;eax goes into result& of CallWindowProc
USE32
push ebp
mov ebp,esp

mov eax,12345678

mov esp,ebp
pop ebp
ret 16

I have tried to modify it to work with MASM as follows:
.model small
.code

push ebp
mov ebp,esp

mov eax,12345678

mov esp,ebp
pop ebp
ret 16
END

I've tried the following batch file to try and create the Com file without success.
\masm32\bin\ml /AT /c /FlMList.txt Test1.asm

It assembles, but wont link. Is this my main problem or does MASM32 not produce small files without the file headers on them?

I know I may not be asking the right questions, but I'm new to assembler and all this is confusing to me.

Thanks - Jack Rasnick
rasnick@att.net
Posted on 2002-02-21 18:06:54 by JackRazz
Actually the MASM32 package contains the linker from the win98ddk but other Microsoft linker will work fine as long as you understand the file alignment switch and ignore the warning.

To produce a DOS memory image COM file, you need the old OMF linker which is available from either the Microsoft web site or if you cannot find it, get it from Iczelions site.

I have tried to modify it to work with MASM as follows:

[code]

.model small
.code

push ebp
mov ebp,esp

mov eax,12345678

mov esp,ebp
pop ebp
ret 16
END
[/code]