Hi All,
Could someone explain to me how to return a 64 bit number through a function's return value ( 64bitNumber=GetCPUTimeStamp() ). This little PROC is currently returning the number through one of the procedure parameters, which isn't the cleanest approach. I'm new to this assembler stuff (but at least I'm getting comfortable with it) and don't really understand how the function return value is returned through the stack. I'm betting it will be changing the 'ret 16' to something else, but for me, the question is what to.

ret 16 returns a 32 bit number, not a 16 bit.

Thanks - Jack

The code below is for yet another GetCPU speed function. This little piece just gets the number of cpu cycles and returns it as a LARGE_INTEGER (Currency in Visual Basic).

[size=9] ;Purpose:   Get the CPU Time Stamp and Put results into Long1

; Where Long1 which is a Currency Data Type (LONG_INTEGER)
;vb code -> res& = CallWindowProc(VarPtr(MachCode(1)), VarPtr(Lng1),2&, 3&, 4&)
.model small
.code

GetCPUTimeStamp PROC STDCALL USES ebx ecx edx long1:dword, long2:dword, long3:dword, long4:dword

rdtsc

;put EAX into LowPart of LARGE_INTEGER
mov ebx,long1
mov [ebx],eax

;put EDX into HighPart of LARGE_INTEGER
add ebx,4 ;move addr pointer fordward 4 bytes
mov [ebx],edx

;Finish Up
ret 16
GetCPUTimeStamp endp
END
[/SIZE]
Posted on 2002-03-02 10:35:17 by JackRazz
Pass a pointer to the routine, then store the data at that address - which your doing. Another option is to use C calling convention and pop the value off the stack.
GetCPUTimeStamp PROC C USES ebx ecx edx dummy1:dword, dummy1:dword

rdtsc
mov dummy1,eax
mov dummy2,edx
ret
GetCPUTimeStamp endp

; use it like

invoke GetCPUTimeStamp, 0, 0
pop eax
pop edx
But why not just use RDTSC, returning the value in EAX/EDX - I'm assuming you need this for interfacing with another language?
Posted on 2002-03-02 11:02:32 by bitRAKE