This thread is dedicated to developing a DLL for use in Visual Basic using MASM assembler methods to build the DLL.

I am new to ASM and am just discovering the needed work-arounds for 8-bit to 16- and 32-bit conversions.

I'm using "Assembly Develop Studio 1.0" from http://www.linkedglobe.com configured for MASM32 and library support that I found at http://spiff.tripnet.se/~iczelion/

I have also installed IdeasM 1.0 for use with UEDIT, it is very useful and provided essential information for getting ADS 1.0 configured to work with MASM32 instead of TurboASM. Making direct use of the extensive support for MASM seemed like the way to go.

Next post is the code I am compiling that will hopefully emulate AVR functions to VB.

There is a possible advantage to using a segmented non-flat memory model. I think its possible to work with 8-bit values and addresses can be 16-bits. Then of course we are not working with WIN32.

So its necessary to consider what the experts think about this part of the projects. A person who knows both platforms well would possibly have a preference. It depends allot on how much work is involved in converting 8-bit values and pointers.

Contributions gladly accepted.

-AV- :grin:
Posted on 2002-03-11 14:16:59 by avrster
It compiles, with just a single error as I'm working out a conversion of 32 or 16 bit values in indexing. I'm not sure what the wanted value is.

The main method is prototyped that tests the reason for calling the DLL. Also it willl be possible to export methods to Visual Basic using the needed _stdcall convention.

I began with a simple skeleton and made sure I could include files and libraries. Then I made tables for the SBOX etc. and added a few simple functions that will move data, or bitflop it.

The main intent is to enhance my capabillities with VB as related to AVR emulation and other applications.