Hi i'm a total newbie to assembly, i just got masm32 and was reading Iczelion's tutorial and he said to compile the .asm file using the command ml /c /coff /Cp (filename).asm so how or where do i enter this command? thanks for your time :grin:
Posted on 2002-03-11 21:03:22 by novacat14
Welcome to the community novacat14!:alright:

If you use QEditor.exe (in the masm32 folder), it's easy just to be a little lazy and click the Project menu, then Build All.

As for your question about where to type the command, you could use a bat file or use dos prompt, however less typing has less typos so I just use the mehtod above

James Emmrich
Posted on 2002-03-11 21:32:29 by JamesE
ok i did that nothing happened??! am i stupid or ignant? ok this is what i do i open qeditor thing i then open the .asm file i want to assemble so i then went to tools and then build all?! but nothing happens it doesn't even give me an error message. Perhaps it's building the thing but where is it hiding it?

sorry to be such a bother

--------------------------------------------
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day, teach a man to fish and he'll eat for i life time... please teach me to "fish"
Posted on 2002-03-11 21:47:36 by novacat14
One thing I have noticed is that qeditor doesn't like spaces in file paths, but this usually pops up a dos window with an error message... I haven't had time to play with hutch's new version of the masm package but usually what happens is it builds all the example files after installation so if they build, there should be no problems... not sure what could the problem... do any dos prompts pop up at all?
Posted on 2002-03-11 22:12:09 by JamesE
Ok i got it but now i'm running into link errors??! why god why??
Such a simple task as compiling a program should not take this long!
Posted on 2002-03-11 23:39:37 by novacat14
Ok tell us:

1) What your compiling... Ie source or specific tutorial lesson
2) The link errors