I'm working on code to initialize a 486 processor.

Code is taken from an AMD support file that illustrates some ASM to initialize the system and call Main function in C application as an external.

I tried assembling the demonstration in Bloodshed C compiler (Great name for a product eh? I'll bet their sick about it.)and got 28 errors. I'm not a C programmer; Perl, VB, Java and some ASM.
I'll try another compiler. I see Watcom C is 48MB.

AMD likes to establish protected mode for some reason before calling the C application ( which in this case is a BIOS demonstration.) My application initially can get by without LOTS of the standard PC BIOS support. I just need to initialize stack, memory and interrupts to process serial I/O and return serial responses. The whole thing can be written in MASM32, taking about 95% of the application from an existing AVR application.

The amount of code needed to initialize the system is not bad.

I also checked into tinyBIOS and began removing a lot of things to get MASM to like it. Conversion from A386 to MASM is not too much work either, but it uses segmentation heavily. So I figure its easier to knockout a FLAT boot method and then add the SIO in MASM. AMD just might be willing to take a look at the BOOT code to help me get a Elan 520 5-WATT server prototype up to a point where I can begin developing the application.

The attachment compiles with no includes in MASM32.

I'd like to get a code method established. I don't understand the expansion really in DRAM initialization. I'm going to run it by AMD.

-AV

5W Server
Posted on 2002-03-30 09:25:55 by avrster
Sounds like you need a bootloader have you been here:

http://www.nondot.org/sabre/os/articles
Posted on 2002-03-31 05:32:56 by bdjames
You don't undstand what I'm working on.

I'll probably make it optional to boot the 5W server from a DD same as a PC.