Hello all,

I've been programming in HLLs for several years, and I'm finally biting the bullet and jumping back into assembly. (Thanks go out to Iczelion; I was in the same boat thinking that Win32 assy was a nightmare until I saw his site.)

My problem is this. I need to get ramped up on assembly language again, but all the tutorials I can find are either (a) Win32 tuts assuming the readers knows assy, or (b) 16-bit tuts that I can't get to assemble under masm32 7 or masm 6.14.

Is there anything out there that walks the reader through something like "Hello, world" in x86/DOS, including how to assemble and link the thing, and then goes on to explain much of x86 assembly in general?

I've started reading Randall Hyde's "The Art of Assembly Language", but I admit I'm swamped in it. I've read the first 150 pages and I still don't know how to make "You are dumb and smell funny" appear on the console--you might be surprised how useful a program like that would be. ;)

I'm a very hands-on type of learner, if I can assemble and test an idea I'll learn it much more quickly than trying to memorize pages of opcodes and notes. That said, I'll ask another, more direct question. How would I write a program snippet that reads the command line arguments and prints them back to the screen? Something like this program in C:

void main(int argc, char *argv[]) {

for(int j=0; j<argc; ++j)
printf("%d: %s\n", j, argv[j])
}

I *think* I can puzzle through this with Iczelion's tutorial that uses "invoke GetCommandLine" but I'd prefer to know how to do it without making any win32 calls.

Phew. Sorry for such a long newbie post. Thank you all in advance, and hello!

-Chalain
--
Objects in compiler are larger than they appear in VB
Posted on 2002-04-16 16:45:32 by Chalain

I *think* I can puzzle through this with Iczelion's tutorial that uses "invoke GetCommandLine" but I'd prefer to know how to do it without making any win32 calls.