i've got an problem with edit control..... see your self couse i do not know how to explain this.
what i want to do is disable that what U see on the picture and do a normal refreshing or some other thing 'couse i dont even know why it acts like that. i'm not very good at gdi and maybe some of U guys met such problem and know how to remove it.

thx for any help
cya
Posted on 2002-04-28 15:25:33 by NEMO
I can't be sure without seeing some code, but I've had similar results when I override the painting methods of a control, and accidentally disable "background erase". Things to check:

[*] Are you repainting the control with InvalidateRect? If so, make sure you're sending TRUE as the bErase parameter.
    [*] Are you trapping window messages by hand? If so, make sure WM_ERASEBKGND is being handled properly. If you're not handling it, make sure it's being forwarded to DefWindowProc.
    [*] Are you double-buffering the control by painting to a memory DC and then blitting? If you are, you could be drawing the source image wrong... if you're caching the image and then or'ing the text over it, that would be highly suspect.
    [*] Any of a zillion other possibilities... post some code!

Good luck,

-Chalain
Posted on 2002-04-28 15:36:19 by Chalain
and here's the source code
ohh... and i work on win98
Posted on 2002-04-28 15:37:37 by NEMO
Did you set the yellow font with SelectObject(hDC, hYellowFont)? If so use the WM_SETFONT, it should work (I hope :) ).

Edit:
Please don't consider my post. I take too much time to write my replies... I didn't see your source code and I thoght you have used a custom font for the edit box :rolleyes:
Posted on 2002-04-28 15:42:38 by LuHa
Nemo,

The problem is that you're not forwarding other messages. In the final .ELSE clause, you need to invoke DefWindowProc and return its return value rather than simply return false.