Hi there from a complete newbie and new member.

I know this is a stupid question but can someone give me a clue, well not a clue but a bit of code that generates a new file. I've found heaps of examples of opening and writing to existing files but can't seem to find anything on creating a new one. I must admit I know absolutely nothing about programming apart from a bit of basic in years gone by so I'm starting from nothing here. I'm assuming one uses CreatefileA. I'm struggling with all of this but I am trying, honest. Am I just stupid??(That's a rhetorical question ;) I even tried resorting to a routine using int 21 that I got from, I think it was Gavin somethings dos asm tutorial and then tried to change the int 21 to dos3call like something I saw in another book . I'm clutching at straws here and have absolutely noone I can turn to to get me over the hump of the learning curve. I've downloaded the api references but my brain won't allow me to see how they apply to w32 assembly.

Sorry about this. I'll try not to be so dumb in the future.

Hopefully I might have answered the question myself before someone gets back to me.

Cheers,

Raavin
Posted on 2002-04-30 00:22:45 by Raavin

invoke CreateFile, addr filename, \
GENERIC_READ or GENERIC_WRITE, \
0,0, CREATE_NEW, FILE_ATTRIBUTE_ARCHIVE, 0
mov HandleNewFile,eax
; returns ERROR_ALREADY_EXISTS in eax if it already exists

np :)

ps: I highly recommend the Iczelion's Tutorials for the little jump start you may need
Posted on 2002-04-30 01:00:11 by JimmyClif
welcome to the board Raavin!

i really would recommend that you read through iczelions tutorials at http://spiff.tripnet.se/~iczelion/tutorials.html. it will teach you everything you really need to know to get you started.