I've resorted to using the following macro to clear a buffer at the beginning of a loop:

ClearBuffer MACRO buffer
;pushad
mov edi,offset buffer
mov ecx,sizeof buffer
xor al,al
rep stosb
;popad
ENDM

I'm not positive but I think I borrowed it from a recent forum search on clearing buffers. It's probably a fairly inefficient way to do it, but that's not the problem. The problem is that I also use ecx as a counter in my loop and rely on it for referencing entries in a couple of tables. I just spent about an hour messing with the loop code before trying vkim's vkdebug (can't believe I've never used it before). I wasn't thinking before, because obviously that macro is destroying ecx's contents.

But here's the problem.... If I uncomment the "pushad" and "popad" in the macro or even put a "push ecx" and "pop ecx" around the call to that macro I get a dr watson error messagebox. Right now I'm using winnt4 at work if that makes a difference. If I comment out the ecx preservation lines, everything runs smoothly except the loop only runs through once cause of ecx being trashed.

When I get home I can attack the code with some better debugging tools but at work I'm stuck with only the masm32 package and my brain which apparently aren't enough. :) Does anyone have an idea why windows won't let me preserve ecx here?
Posted on 2002-04-30 17:53:13 by Will
you're probably calling the macro in a callback... you have to preserve
ebx,esi,edi,ebp,esp in callbacks.
Posted on 2002-04-30 18:14:20 by f0dder
Well I feel pretty lazy cause I had every intention to come straight home and debug the crap out of the program, but instead I got my arm twisted into going to the pub right after work and just got home now (11:30).