Hi all,

I'm pretty new to ASM-Programming. I used to program in VC before but now I want to go deeper. As I tried to write my first ASM-Programms I realized that I miss the type-cast.

Does anyone know a good tutorial or a library on doing this. The best would be a documented sourcecode. So I can learn how it works.

Thanks for your help
Posted on 2002-05-15 12:53:49 by Compuholic
Type casting doesnt exist. Well it does, kinda, but only at a very primitive level.

Type casting is mainly to keep C++ from exploding from confusion ;) . In asm, you spell it all out for the compiler.

Tut? :
-------

Masm32 uses 32 bit registers by default.
you *can* use 16 and 8 bit as well no problem

to move data from "char" to "long", you can use:

mov al, "char"
movsx edx, al ; edx = long

now edx has the upper 24 bits set to the same bit as bit 8 of the 'char'. Effectively type casted.

Most often you will see things were memory is pointed by something like a structure.

lea edx, Memory
mov (MyStruct PTR ).StructField, eax

In essence MyStruct is being casted over the memory region that starts at edx. A cleaner way of doing this, is:

lea edx, memory
mov .MyStruct.StructField, eax

I like this better, but hides the PTR part, so it may not be so clear to the reader.

As well, when dealing with signed numbers, you need to 'cast' the assumption they are signed, or MASM will default to unsigned.

mov eax, 0FFFFFFFFh
.if( SDWORD PTR eax == -1 )
invoke Beep, NULL, NULL
endif

Here im telling the assembler that tread the DWORD (long) as a SIGNED (S) DWORD. Thus 0FFFFFFFFh is not the largest number, but rather -1 is 2's complement.

This is all the ways simular to casting that i can think of. The rest is up to you to think about and decide how data is manipulated..

Hope it helps
:alright:
NaN
Posted on 2002-05-15 13:19:21 by NaN
Wow, this was fast :-)