Hi guys...

Complete newbie to ASM. But I think I'm quite good at Delphi. <bears laughs and ridicule with smile>

OK, OK. So I need to learn a man's language (are there any female ASM coders?? If so, I'm not a sexist pig, honest ;) ). So here I am. Anyway, reason for wanting to learn ASM? I want to write a fast interpreter for an old language. I attempted it in Delphi, but fell when trying to encapsulate interpreted classes. Data parts were fine, but I couldn't figure out how to tie together an instance's methods to its data.

How should I go about trying to create instances of classes and their methods in ASM? I just want an outline - I still can't understand most ASM code, but can write a little.

Lastly, is it foolish to try and use classes within ASM?? i.e. actually create some sort of macro that gives some sort of class capability?? Dunno how, but...

Anyways, thanks for your attention, and help if you leave it.

=\.Lyceus./=
Posted on 2002-05-16 16:29:33 by lyceus
Anything that can be done in a HLL can
be done in ASM.

No it is not silly to do OOP in ASM, some
people on this board are working
on a OOP package.

If you have visual studio you can write
OOP code and, by using debug, view how
the compiler handles it.
Posted on 2002-05-16 17:12:23 by bdjames
there was another poll re:gender. i think there is one female contributer to this forum.
Posted on 2002-05-16 17:44:22 by jademtech
The subject is "yawn" material, someone who cannot write asm at all defining it in the context of Borland Delphi to write code in that interpretive framework.

To answer your question, learn ASM if you have a use for it and try and define classes if you learn enough about it.

Regards,

hutch@movsd.com
Posted on 2002-05-16 20:19:28 by hutch--