If an api within an ".asm" file makes the linker(tasm linker) send an error for external unresolved, would that be an error within the asm or inc files or because the import library doesn't have the api under kernel32: lstrlen api. My import library is dated from 1996. If it's the import library short coming how do I solve that for tasm32. Please be specific as I'm a newbie.

(sorry NaN, hope this post isn't against the rules. Oh please delete the previous thread if possible Thanks. I wish to learn asm programing but the books are very few and the compilers/assemblers are not that compatible with each other to just use another assembler.)
Posted on 2002-05-18 15:11:50 by BeHereNow
have you included both the kernel inc and lib file.
Posted on 2002-05-18 15:46:57 by Kudos
I have an import library for tasm32. It didn't have a kernel.inc in the folder. Is that a command I have to put in the .asm file like:
include kernel.inc
or is it a file I generate from windows(if so how do I do that) or download somewhere. or is it to be included in the .inc file? what would be the proper way to list it there?
Thanks for taking the time to read and answer the question.
Posted on 2002-05-18 15:53:43 by BeHereNow
What does it mean? My understanding is that this is a code line that cannot function or be implemented either due to not being in the .inc file and/or has no reference in the import library.
Am I understanding it correctly?
Posted on 2002-05-18 16:02:28 by BeHereNow
the inc file would be included by your asm file. Maybe you have a different inc file, it dosen't realy matter what the inc file's name is as long as it contains the prototypes for the functions. usually you have one inc and one lib file for every library you want to link to.
Posted on 2002-05-18 16:05:15 by Kudos
it means you are using a function that the assembler can't find.
Posted on 2002-05-18 16:07:06 by Kudos
I do have an .inc , .asm , .rc , .res , and I managed to get an .obj file from "make.exe".