I am quite new to win32asm programming and would like to know where I can find more information (examples would be nice) on self-modifying code. Like, creating a program that will run one way, but if something is detected or something is checked, the program will 'self-modify'. I hope you understand what I am talking about. Just some examples or links to tutorials/documents on that (perhaps masm-specific? :) )

thanks..

-
frihz
Posted on 2002-05-29 00:06:28 by frihz
have you tried google already? i bet you'll find thousands
of links and examples. in masm all you have to do is set
a few more linker options (Link.exe ... /SECTION:.text,RW ...)
thats because under normal circumstances you can't write
to your code section. after setting this up you can modify
what you what. however, google keywords would be
reverse-engineering, anti debugging and v*rus of course.
Posted on 2002-05-29 03:49:11 by mob
Maybe you could try a tool named "pewrite" or something like that, ( I don't remember exactly), it helps you to make the code section of your exes writable.
Posted on 2002-05-29 06:37:28 by Axial
Here I found a tool ! But I must warn you it's also a tool used for making viruses, so....

PS : I hope I won't get banned for this :)

EDIT by Readiosys : Attachment removed : please read the rules...
Posted on 2002-05-29 06:42:05 by Axial
did you post pwrsec.exe (the name was something like this)?
if yes then this tool is definatly NOT used to produce v*ruses.
it's used to set new section flags nothing more nothing less.
Posted on 2002-05-29 07:12:37 by mob
If you're using hutch--'s Masm32 package, you'll find a directory \Masm32\Example2\smc\ which deals with self-modifying code... the important part of this is in build.bat.

Take good care of self-modifying code, smc is potentially dangerous, but if you are careful it can be VERY much faster.