Can somebody tell how to implement the "FOR" assember statement, cos i really dont get it.

Thanks
Posted on 2002-06-11 14:50:04 by IrOn
I'm a newbie so many other ppl may show you a better way but I have came up with this

some_type_of_label:

invoke MessageBox, NULL, offset message_str, offset title_str, MB_OK
dec i
cmp i, 0
jnz some_type_of_label

I've also attached the file so you could see the whole thing, hopefully the attach thingie works :)
Posted on 2002-06-11 16:55:31 by gorshing
The masm32 library actually enables you to use psuedo hll syntax like "if/elseif/endif" statements. Check out the masm32.hlp (or whatever it's called) in the "help" folder in the "masm32" dir. Maybe there's even a menuitem for it under the "help" menu in qeditor as well. I don't remember.

But basically it goes like this:

.if eax == 0
;then do whatever it is that you want to do
.elseif eax != 0
;then whatever you want here
.endif

Of course the same thing can be done with straight asm syntax like:

cmp eax,0
je eaxiszero
jne eaxisnotzero
jmp _end

eaxiszero:
;do whatever you want here
jmp _end

eaxisnotzero:
;do whatever you want here
jmp _end

_end:
ret ;or whatever

Hope that clears it up.

edit: Oops I forgot to say that there's no "for loop" in asm. But there is also hll style syntax for "while" and "repeat until" style loops. And you can always just create your own little loop by just having a counter with a comparison statement with a conditional jump.
Posted on 2002-06-11 17:56:50 by Will
What kind of FOR are we talking about?

=============================

There's the C/C++ FOR:

for (expr1; expr2; expr3) statement

which translates to

expr1;
while (expr2) { statement; expr3; }

=============================

Then there's the Basic/Pascal/Fortran FOR

FOR v = first TO last
statements
END FOR

which translates to

v = first;
while (v <= last) { statements; v = v + 1; }
Posted on 2002-06-11 18:56:45 by tenkey

some_type_of_label:

dec i
cmp i, 0
jnz some_type_of_label