Ok, I am a total newbie. Read many posts, tuts, Randys' HLA (like MASM32 better) but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to create a "function" that takes parameters, does some stuff and then returns a something to the caller. A dll to be more specific. For starters I am trying to play with a dll so I can try it in VB. (I know VB, yuck but that is why I am learning MASM) Like I want to do in VB:

Private Declare Function MyRGB lib "MyDLL" (byref lRed as long, byref lGreen as long, byref lBlue as long) as long
ByRef cause masm needs a pointer to a mem location? I dunno, I am well versed in VB and self taught but this assembly is kicking my butt.

and I want a function in a asm dll called MyRGB to take the 3 values and return the 32bit RGB number.

I took the TstDll example and modified it with

MyRGB proto lRed:DWORD, lGreen:DWORD, lBlue:DWORD

MyRGB endp

Is this how I would start?

Please steer me in the right direction.

Thanks.
Rob
Posted on 2002-06-13 01:21:35 by Gunner
Im uncertain of what you have seen in terms of assembly examples, but if i get you correctly you want the basic framework of a function that returns a value...

So, in this light, here is the basic frame and why..

First,
RGB_Fucntion PROTO :DWORD, :DWORD, :DWORD

This can be places at the beginning of your source, it tells masm the # of params to expect when calling your function, and what type of params they will be; in this case, Red, Green, Blue, as DWORDS each..

Second,
RGB_Function PROC Red:DWORD, Green:DWORD, Blue:DWORD

Somewhere in the .code segment, have this to indicate the entry point of your function, and the NAMES of the params to use as variables.. (they are really stack variables, in the stack segment).

Third, the code:
xor eax, eax,
mov edx, Blue
mov al, dl
shl eax, 8

mov edx, Green
mov al, dl
shl eax, 8

mov edx, Red
mov al, dl
;note EDX is corrupted by this function, and EAX == 00BBGGRR