Ok, there are a few here... I want to create a terrain demo in asm using DX8 as my renderer. I've used OpenGL before, but DX is knida different.

First, I want to know if loading a .x file is exactly the same thing as me creating an array of vertexes on my own.

Second, I want to know the best way to display like 10,000 polys of terrain, and preferably, I would like it able to be deformed.

Third, do I have to use the .x format for small objects such as trees? On some of the trees I want to use multi-texturing to make them look good up close, and I don't know if I can have more than 2 uv coords in a .x format.

Fourth, what is the OBSOLUTE fastest way to display large amounts of polys on the screen?

I have more but I can't remember them, so I will ask them later.
Posted on 2001-08-21 22:50:01 by Kenny
hey fella, Id love to help you out but Im still learning myself ;)
Its too bad that people are reluctant to help with things like that.. at least to point you in the right direction.. I know they are working hard at translating the DirectX8 headers+libraries and examples from the SDK, so you should look around the forum for all that.. Like I say Id help out if I could but first off Im a newbie too and second I dont have DX8 Im still with 7 (DAMN THOSE SIMS!) yup so I cant even begin to play with DX8 or anything that needs it right now.. ah well sorry I cant be of much help
Posted on 2001-08-22 17:37:25 by closed_casket
I'm still reading the documentation. Scronty's page is the best starting point, and when he pulls himself away from his coding, he might be able to give some insight based on his experience.
Posted on 2001-08-22 17:50:09 by bitRAKE
closed_casket

dude, those sims are backwards compatible. Everything that works in DX7 works in DX8. If it doesn't work, you have permission to shoot me.

Bitrake