Hi Everyone

I'm pretty new to this stuff but I love it already.

I've a challenge for you all.

I'm trying to write a very very small exe that connects to a webserver and downloads a file. Once downloaded the exe executes this file and exits itself. The reason for this is I'm distributing an exe using a authenticode signed cab file but the exe is largeish (~100K). Microsoft in their wizdom don't really give the user much feedback when a cab file is downloading. Thus what I want to do is write a small bootstrap downloader that displays the download progress usign a progress bar.

I was inspired by Iczellion's programs HTTP Downloder and HTTP Zip Downloader (the source is at http://spiff.tripnet.se/~iczelion/files/http15.zip, and http://spiff.tripnet.se/~iczelion/files/zipdl.zip). Problem is these programs are still kind of big they do it with raw socket calls. Using InternetOpenUrl I managed to write a nice small version but it is not asychronous so I can't display the download progress.

Anyone got any ideas. Perhaps usign InternetOpenUrl in some kind of multi treaded way might work.

TIA
Posted on 2002-08-23 10:40:07 by timkempster
You should make a new thread for that InternetOpenUrl thing and use the main thread to display download progress. This way while downloading you get your UI still working and you could provide user a chance to cancel the download and such things.
Posted on 2002-08-23 11:22:08 by SamiP
Thanks SamiP

that was surprisingly easy! I thought the thread stuff would be very difficult but it wasn't.

Got it down to 11.6K does anyone have any tips for making it smaller? I'm sure my code must only be a few hundred bytes.
Posted on 2002-08-23 11:42:59 by timkempster
If you want it small, use FASM or any other assembler and put the code and data in the import section. Then remove the need of a relocation section by putting the image pointer in a register. Something like this:

call a
a:
pop ebx
sub ebx, SOMETHING