Hello everyone...first post!

I am having problems calling the exported function of a dll that I have written in assembly. I am pretty new to assembly coding on x86 systems so the dll was just a test to see if I could get things going. I am using the NASM and ALINK duo and running windows ME.

Here's the code:

/***************************************/

extern MessageBoxA

import MessageBoxA user32.dll

global _TestFunc
export _TestFunc

section data public use32

lpszMsgTitle db "Asm Dll", 0
lpszMsg db "This is an ASM dll", 0

section code public use32

..start:

mov eax, 1
ret 12

_TestFunc:

push dword 0
push dword lpszMsgTitle
push dword lpszMsg
push dword 0
call
ret

/*******************************************/

As you can see its pretty much a toy dll. I assembled it and built it, declared the function "extern C" in a c++ source file and created an executable that used it. That is where the problems began. The host executable runs fine once then fails with a message like "Unable to run <host program>", "It is in an incorrect format". If I use LoadLibrary and GetProcAddress to load the dll it still fails inexplicably at times. Even if the host program is written in assembly the operating system still chokes on the executable at sometimes.
The thing is, I built this at school on their XP system and I don't remeber getting these errors...ever.

These kind of inconsistent errors are a programmer's nightmare...especially when you are new to something. :( Anyone have ANY idea what could be wrong?

Thanks in advance. :)
Posted on 2002-09-09 14:30:41 by Thanatos
Dunno if this is your problem, but in calling MessageBox you aren't pushing the pointers to the strings, but the first four bytes of the strings themselves.

i.e.,

push dword lpszMsgTitle
push dword lpszMsg

should read

push offset lpszMsgTitle
push offset lpszMsg