Hello,

I'm a newbie to assembler programming and looking at code samples I was wandering about the meaning of the square brackets and PTR operators. Can anyone confirm that the square bracket operator specifies a memory reference (of the contained register, label, etc) and that the PTR operator is used to do something like a C cast??? To what can the square brackets operator be applied to apart registers and labels???
Thx.

Regards,
YAA
Posted on 2002-09-12 05:03:21 by yaa
Hi yaa ( no pun intended )

Welcome to the community.

You are correct about both [] and PTR, they can be used like

mov eax, [eax] ; read data from the address in eax
mov eax, [count] ; read data from the variable count - altho [] not necessary if using MASM

lea eax, [ebx+ecx*4] ; eax = ( ebx + ( ecx * 4 ))

mov BYTE PTR [edi], 0 ; write a single byte to the address in edi

; Read data from the memory pointed
; to by eax but treat the memory as if it
; was a 'SomeStruct' structure

mov eax, (SomeStruct PTR [eax]).m_dataMember

Hope this helps :alright:

Maelstrom
Posted on 2002-09-12 05:28:41 by Maelstrom
yaa,
the PTR casts are mainly there so that the assembler knows what you are trying to do, and chooses the right opcode. They are not really there for the programmer's benefit (ie. they don't really fill the same purpose as what they do in C/C++).
Posted on 2002-09-12 07:34:59 by sluggy
In MASM, the square brackets do not mean memory. It means that registers written inside them are used to build an address for the instruction. If no registers are mentioned, the brackets are redundant. The result is that the following two instructions are the same:

mov eax,1
mov eax,[1]
Posted on 2002-09-12 20:36:10 by tenkey
In MASM all these generate the same instruction:

mov eax,1
mov eax,[1]
mov eax, DWORD PTR 1
mov eax, DWORD PTR [1]

:eek:

So, how does one move a word from an immediate address to a register?

A1 01000000

verses

B8 01000000

Of course, we never need to do this in Win32asm.