Hi.

I began learning 16-bit ASM and practice 16-bit ASM programming under DOS and MASM 6.x three weeks ago. I am very impressed with ASM and the control and simplicity ASM brings to programming. 16-bit ASM is so simple. Programmers have the most flexibility in terms of program design. I enjoy ASM programming and will definitely continue learning and practicing 16-bit ASM.

As I mentioned before I am learning 16-bit ASM, not 32-bit ASM. The author of the ASM book for which I am studying from emphasizes that 32-bit ASM is not as important or as practical as 16-bit ASM. One key reason is the presence of high-level languages including C/C++, making 32-bit Windows and Linux programming much easier and quicker. I definitely agree. Yes, 32-bit ASM is powerful and gives you unparalleled control, but at the cost of design, implemetation, and debugging time.

Software technology changes so rapidly. Consider Microsoft's C#. Companies are in a race to design overly simple and extremely easy, at a cost of control limitation, programming languages. I would like to know what is the future of Assembly language and 16-bit, 32-bit, and soon 64-bit ASM programming? I am most interested in 16-bit ASM because, again, 32-bit and 64-bit ASM programming in Windows and Linux is really not worth the time and effort except for specific reasons such as hardware control.

Thanks,
Kuphryn
Posted on 2002-09-20 23:38:51 by kuphryn
Hi.
I would say that 16 bit, whether it's assembler or anything else is dead. Except maybe to bootstrap an OS.
32-bit is the most common now (Linux and Windows). And 64-bit is the future. It remains to be seen what are Microsoft's plans for a 64-bit version of MASM, but we'll get a 64-bit assembler some way or the other.
And about
because, again, 32-bit and 64-bit ASM programming in Windows and Linux is really not worth the time and effort except for specific reasons such as hardware control.