Hi.

I am a C++ programmer.

I began learning 16-bit ASM and practice 16-bit ASM programming under DOS and MASM 6.x three weeks ago. I am very impressed with ASM and the control and simplicity ASM brings to programming. 16-bit ASM is so simple. Programmers have the most flexibility in terms of program design. I enjoy ASM programming and will definitely continue learning and practicing 16-bit ASM.

I have some basic, but essential, questions on implementing 16-bit, 32-bit, and 64-bit assembly in C++ programs.

1) Under what circumstances in additional to device drivers development do programmers use 16-bit and 32-bit ASM? I am most interested in 16-bit ASM when using ASM only.

2) Under what circumstances do C++ programmers incorporate 16-bit and/or 32-bit ASM in C++ programs? Please be as specific as possible. For example, under what conditions do 16-bit and 32-bit ASM out-perform C++? I am most interested in the Windows environment when using C++ and ASM.

Is it possible to apply 16-bit ASM in C++ Windows programs? Again, C++ does all the messaging. I want to incorporate ASM it is called for.

Thanks,
Kuphryn
Posted on 2002-09-20 23:55:29 by kuphryn
kuphryn,

You can run 16 bit code in 32 bit as long as you don't try and use segments at all but its poor code alongside true 32 bit code. The other virtue is that 32 bit code is simpler because it no longer deals with segments at all.

Most people writing C who use assembler do so for speed reasons, the days of assembler device drivers are almost over in windows, they are mainly done in C++ these days.

With a 32 bit C/C++ compiler like Visual C, you can either write inline assembler or write seperate modules in MASM, the latter is the better way to do it in most instances.

Comparisons sight unseen are impossible to do, if you really need to know where performance can be gained, decompile your own code and have a look at how the compiler does it and see if you can improve on the compiler code.