Hi.

Okay. Here is my situation. I am stuck in college for at least two more semesters. I have no work experience, not even internship. The primary reason has and still is my wanting to finish school ASAP. In other words, I take as many classes as I can and take a class in summer.

I posted a thread about the importance of college. I believe all responses recommend college degree as a "passport," but ultimately experience is what gets the job done. I am trying to accomplish both, but I have running behind.

I understand C++ and OOP paradigm. I understand 16-bit ASM and Windows MFC and Winsock. I am currently working on projects utilizing MFC and Winsock.

I would like to know what is the next step? I mean I have tried everything in my power to gain experience. I would like to know what real software engineers do that gain experience.

There two interesting developer tools I have no knowledge of right now. They are 32-bit ASM and COM programming. I would like to know what is more powerful in general. In other words, which tool is more extensible as C++. Both tools can be implemented into a C++ project. Both tools support Windows, however, 32-bit ASM supports Linux as well.

How powerful is 32-bit programming present in the the future?

Thanks,
Kuphryn
Posted on 2002-10-04 13:27:25 by kuphryn
'real' software engineers do anything that pays 'real' money :tongue:

COM is platform independant in reality. If you want to know what's good to learn from an employment POV (point of view) check your local jobpages and see which skills they ask for most.

1 get a degree
2 while getting that degree try getting some experience
3 once having the degree get a job (<- hardest part :( )

that's the best course of action :/

these days everyone asks X years of experience it seems, so having some certainly won't hurt
Posted on 2002-10-04 14:13:17 by Hiroshimator
Okay. Thanks.