Hi,
I have made a DLL in VB and I would like to know how to call the functions and access the properties in that DLL. If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks,
Barry
Posted on 2002-11-11 20:54:03 by bgong68
What? you made a .dll in visual basic and want to use it
in assembly? doesn't that kinda defy the purpose?

IMHO, Wouldn't that just create a bottleneck?
EDIT: And you will also need to use the Microsoft Visual Basic Virtual Machine!
(Visual Basic Run-Time .dll: MsvbvmXX.dll)

Anyhow, I am no expert on using external .dll's made in vb.
But this is how I would load an external .dll:
[color=sienna]

.data
DLL_LIBRARY DB "NAMEOF.DLL",0
DLL_FUNCTION DB "NameOfMyFunction",0
.data?
hLoadLib DD ?
.code
invoke LoadLibrary,ADDR DLL_LIBRARY ;[color=green]\\ Load the dll and get it's handle[/color]
mov hLoadLib,eax
invoke GetProcAddress,hLoadLib,ADDR DLL_FUNCTION ;[color=green]\\ Get address to function[/color]
invoke eax, [color=red]<- parameters to the function goes here[/color]
invoke FreeLibrary,hLoadLib ;[color=green]\\ Free the library when your done.[/color]
[/color]
Posted on 2002-11-11 21:45:35 by natas
Hi Natas,
Thanks for your help. I was able to use your code example and make it work when I call an Assembly DLL but I was still having trouble with the VB DLL. I am sure with a little more studying I will be able to get it to work.
Thanks,
Barry ^_^
Posted on 2002-11-12 19:29:27 by bgong68
VB doesn't create "standard" dlls, it creates ActiveX dlls (COM dlls) which AFAIK you can't use LoadLibrary/GetProcAddress on them. Check out Ernies page on COM in MASM:
http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/ernies_world/a.htm

But WHY would you want to call a VB COM dll from Assembly? A lot of overhead don't ya think? Plus you have to redistirbute the vb runtimes with your apps. That is why I left VB for assembly... plus it is more fun :-)
Posted on 2002-11-12 19:46:39 by Gunner
Hi Gunner,