Hi,
I am just curious to know if this,

push var1
pop var2

is better than,

mov eax,var1
mov var2,eax

I would like to know are there any advantages or disadvantages using either technique?
Thank you,
Barry
Posted on 2002-11-21 21:31:22 by bgong68
bgong68,
Think of it this way. The PUSH var1 instruction has to make two memory references, var1 and the stack. POP has to make two more memory references, stack and var2. That's a total of 4 memory references. Now, MOV EAX,var1 makes one memory reference and MOV var2,EAX makes another memory reference for a total of two memory references. All things being equal, what do you think is faster? Ratch
Posted on 2002-11-21 21:43:46 by Ratch
Hi Ratch,
I am new to Assembly but I am going to say based on your explaination the 2 mov instructions are better. Thank you very much formaking it clear.
Barry ^_^
Posted on 2002-11-21 21:54:41 by bgong68
Ratch is correct as i remember from another thread where we discussed the same thing.

In a program that uses loops extensively mov is much better than pop or push...saves a lot of processor time.
Posted on 2002-11-21 22:38:13 by IwasTitan
Hi,

often procedures have to return 1 if successful so i looked at what the C compiler does, it makes:

push 1
pop eax

is this better than mov eax,1 ? i notice the mov eax,1 instruction is very long, maybe xor eax,eax then inc eax? I'm guessing the last way is the best or not?

thank you,
-stormix
Posted on 2002-11-22 07:32:08 by stormix
Please name that compiler, so we use it in threads on "asm is useless, compiler technology is much superior than any human". :grin:
Posted on 2002-11-22 08:04:58 by Maverick
Hi Maverick,

I'm not sure what you mean, this is msvc 6 with optimisations. Are you saying that it's way is the best?
Posted on 2002-11-22 08:12:27 by stormix