Hi everyone,

NaN encouraged me to develop a COM object "App Wizard" so the community can shake the "COM's too hard for me" stigma. Well, I'm in progress and heres what I have:

[*]The Wizard is an HTA or Hypertext Application. So some of you guys will find that Norton Brake-Shoes for CPU Cycles and Macafee Genuine Imitation Snake-Oil will puke a dialog box saying that its a V*rus. It isn't!

[*]The Wizard will essentially generate all the files in Ernie's MyCOM2 project except it will have a unique name, GUIDs, properties, and methods. Events aren't currently supported however I'm trying...

[*]The Wizard will also generate a HTA file so you can see your COM object operating from script seconds after clicking the Create Project button.

[*]LEFT TO DO: I need a command-line app or something that will generate new/unique GUIDs. An exe/com can be called from script and "piped" into the Wizard. Any Ideas?

This is my first time attaching an image I hope it shows :alright:
Posted on 2002-11-29 18:50:16 by Xtreme
Looks pretty sharp, and impressive for 1/2 a weeks work...

As for your last point, i was just readin a text today that did some talk on how the unique GUID's are created. It didnt give me the holy-grail (ie. source), but from the discription of the requirements, im sure there is public soucre on the net somewhere (for other IDE developers to adhear to the GUID standard).

Basically, there is an algorithm that is "time and space" dependant. Such that your physical location, and the date (right down to the second) determines the next GUID it will spit out. (( Not sounding like a 'joe' task for the average programmer to get right to their standard the first time ;) ))

So for this reason, i would be surprised if M$ is holding back all the info on this engine.

However, this is as much info i can provide you that doesn't violate some proprietary rights, cause VC++ has a nice tool ;)

Best of luck..
:alright:
NaN
Posted on 2002-11-29 22:11:50 by NaN